top of page

Transferring a Free Site to Another Wix Account

7 days ago
4 min read

Updated: 6 days ago

You can transfer ownership of a free site to another Wix account at any time.


The free site URL is in the form of siteprefix.wixsite.com/siteaddress. The site prefix is specific to your account, so when you transfer the site to another account the site's URL will also change.



To carry out the site transfer, you need the recipient's email address. Once you send the transfer invite, the recipient has 3 days to accept it via email.


Before you begin:


Once you transfer the site, the site ownership is transferred and all future subscription payments are managed by the new owner. You can choose to simply add someone as a collaborator instead of transferring ownership. Learn more about Roles and Permissions.


To transfer a site:


  1. Go to your site's dashboard.

  2. Click the Site Actions icon

    Transferring a Free Site to Another Wix Account

    at the top of the page.

  3. Select Transfer site.


Screenshot of transferring a site to another Wix account.

  1. Enter the recipient's email address. If necessary, choose whether the recipient is a client, agency or freelancer, or someone else.

    Tip: If the person you're transferring to does not yet have an account, they'll be prompted to create one when accepting the transfer.

  2. Click Continue.

  3. (Optional) Select the checkbox next to the relevant options:

    • Keep my role as Co-Owner of this site after the transfer: Become a collaborator on the site after the transfer. You will have the Admin (Co-Owner) role, which the new site owner can remove at any time.

    • Create a copy of this site and keep it in my account: Create a copy of the site in your account after the transfer.

  4. Click Continue.

  5. Confirm that the site transfer details are correct and click Transfer Ownership.

  6. Click Got it.

    Note: The recipient has 3 days to accept the invite. If they accept, you will receive an email once the transfer is complete.


Tip:


Go to Roles and Permissions to track and manage your transfers.



FAQs


Click a question below to learn more about transferring a free site.


If you try to transfer your site and the transfer failed, one of the following issues could have occurred:

  • Transfer invite expired: The transfer invite is valid for 3 days only. If the recipient does not accept the transfer within 3 days, the invite expires. Once it expires you can resend the invite via email or direct link.

  • Premium plan cancelled: After initiating the transfer of a site with an assigned Premium plan, you cannot cancel the Premium plan. This refers to plans both within the initial 14 day money-back guarantee period and after.

  • Domain disconnected or cancelled: After initiating the transfer of a site with a connected domain, you cannot disconnect or cancel the domain.

  • Primary domain replaced: After initiating the transfer of a site with a connected domain, you cannot change the site's primary domain.

  • Mailbox cancelled: If the site you are transferring has a connected domain that is associated with a mailbox, you cannot cancel the mailbox after initiating the transfer of the site.

  • Third-Party app cancelled or added: After initiating the transfer of a site with a third-party app, you cannot cancel the third-party app subscription. In addition, you cannot add a new third-party app subscription after you initiate the transfer.


Your site media is associated with the Wix site. If you transfer a site to another account, your uploads appear on the live site and in the Media Manager of the new account.


All site contacts (customers, subscribers, etc.) are transferred to the new account and are removed from the old account.


All elements are transferred except for secrets stored in your Secrets Manager.


Your site members and member-only pages transfer to the new account and are removed from the old account.


Email campaigns transfer to the new account and also remain in the old account.

Note: Statistics related to email campaigns do not transfer with the email campaigns themselves.


You can only transfer site ownership to one account at a time. If you initiate a second transfer before the first has ended, the first one will be canceled.


All Wix Stores products, collections, and settings transfer to the new account.

Note: The display of digital products is transferred to the new account, but any digital files (e.g. mp3, jpeg) themselves are not. You must re-upload any digital content which you sell as downloads (e.g. an audio file) to the new account after the transfer.


It is not possible to transfer a purchased logo to another account. If this is something you would like to see offered in future, you can vote for this feature.


After you transfer a site, editing existing blog posts is not possible. You can, however, edit new posts. You can also still turn commenting on or off for existing posts, feature existing posts, and delete posts created before the transfer.

Note: Though blog posts will appear on your live site, they will not appear in the Post Manager.


Yes. Once Wix approves your request, ownership of the account transfers to you, so you can transfer its free sites with the steps above.

Tips:



This article is credited to the Wix team - https://support.wix.com/ and we thank them for that!

Comments


lord_of_the_wix

© 2027 BY LORD OF THE WIX

©
bottom of page