Roles & Permissions: Inviting People to Collaborate on Your Site
Updated: 6 days ago
Invite people to collaborate on your site with Roles & Permissions. Each role includes a list of permissions, so you can control who can m ake changes on your site and dashboard. You can change collaborator roles, create custom roles, and remove collaborator access as needed.

Inviting site collaborators
Invite people to collaborate on your site via the Roles & Permissions section in your site's dashboard. You can assign a predefined role or create a custom role for them.
To send an invite to collaborate on your site:
Go to Roles & Permissions in your site's dashboard.
Click Invite Collaborators.
In the Emails field, enter the email addresses of each collaborator you want to invite, each separated by a comma.
Select the checkbox next to each role you want to assign to your collaborator.
Click Send Invites.
Note:
By default, Wix sites have 1 free collaborator seat. Sites linked to a Wix Studio account have 5 free collaborator seats, even on free plans, but transferring the site to a non-Studio account lowers the free seat limit to 1 until the site is upgraded.
If you already have more collaborators than your plan allows, they can remain as collaborators. However, you will not be able to invite new collaborators until you upgrade your site.
Keep track of how many collaborator seats you have filled with the progress bar at the top of your Roles & Permissions dashboard.
Viewing a collaborator invitation status
To find out if a collaborator has accepted their invitation, go to Roles & Permissions in your site's dashboard. If there is a 'PENDING' label next to their name, they have not yet accepted your invite. In the 'Joined on' column, you can find out when you sent the invite, and how many days are left until their invite expires.
Note:
Invitation emails are valid for 30 days.
Resending an invitation
You can resend a collaborator invitation at any time before it has been accepted, even if the invitation has expired. You can choose to resend the invitation via email through Wix, or retrieve a link to the invitation and send it directly to your collaborator.
To resend an invitation:
Go to Roles & Permissions in your site's dashboard.
Hover over the relevant person and click the More Actions icon

.
Click the relevant option to choose how you want to resend the invitation:
Resend invite: Resend the invitation to the collaborator's email address.
Tip: Ask your collaborator to check their spam folder if they don't see it.
Get invite link: Copy the invite link to your clipboard so you can manually send it to the collaborator.

FAQs
Click below for answers to common questions about inviting collaborators to your site.
What do people see when they're invited to collaborate on a site?
After you send an invitation, your collaborator receives the following email. When they click Accept Invite they'll be prompted to log into Wix. If they don't yet have an account, they can create one.

Learn more about accepting collaborator invitations.
What role should I give my collaborator?
Choose the role that best suits what your collaborator will be doing. For example, if you want them to have full access to all aspects of your site and dashboard, you can choose the (Admin) Co-Owner role. On the other hand, if the collaborator will only be working on your site's design, you can choose the Website Designer role.
Learn more about the predefined collaborator roles or how to create your own custom role.
Can collaborators invite other people to work on my site?
Collaborators need to have the Invite People permission to be able to invite other people to work on your site.
A limited number of management-level roles, such as Admin (Co-Owner) and Website Manager, have this permission. They can invite additional collaborators to work on the site.
Go to Roles & Permissions in your site's dashboard and click Manage Roles to see which roles have the Invite People permission.
Note: Collaborators can't invite or remove other collaborators to a role with additional permissions that they don't already have. For example, a Website Manager won't be able to invite someone to be an Admin Co-Owner of the site.
After I invite a collaborator, when does the seat get filled?
A collaborator seat is filled once the person accepts the invitation received in their email inbox. The seat becomes available again if you choose to remove a collaborator.
I sent an invitation to the wrong email address, what should I do?
If you sent an invite to the wrong email address, you can remove the collaborator to revoke access. Then, you can send a new invite to your collaborator's correct email address.
Go to Roles & Permissions in your site's dashboard.
Hover over the relevant person and click the More Actions icon

.
Click Remove.
Click Remove to confirm.
Next, send a new invitation to the correct email address.
Video Tutorial
Watch our video tutorial to see how to invite people to collaborate on your Wix site.
This article is credited to the Wix team - https://support.wix.com/ and we thank them for that!


Comments