top of page

Roles & Permissions: Information for Site Collaborators

7 days ago
3 min read

Updated: 6 days ago

As a site collaborator, you can edit or manage a site owned by another Wix user. The actions you can perform on the site are determined by your role. Site owners can update your role as your responsibilities change over time. If you no longer wish to be a collaborator, you can remove yourself from the site.


Important:


Make sure you don't make changes in Wix Editor at the same time as someone else. Doing so can cause unexpected behavior in the site or the owner's account. Concurrent editing is only available in the Studio Editor.



Accepting an invitation to collaborate


When a Wix user invites you to collaborate on their site, an invitation is sent to your email address. You can accept the invitation by clicking on the link in the email.


Your invitation link expires 30 days after it's sent. If you can’t find your email invite, check your junk or spam folder. If your invite has expired, ask the site owner to resend your invite.


To accept an invitation:


  1. Open the invitation email in your email account.

  2. Click Accept Invite.

  3. Accept the invitation:


Click Accept Invite to accept the invitation.

If you're not signed in, click Log In and sign in with your credentials to accept the invitation.


If you're already signed in to an account and want to use a different one, click Accept with another account and sign in with the credentials of the account that you want to use.

If you're not signed in, click Log In and sign in with your credentials of the account that you want to use to accept the invitation.


Create a new Wix account to accept the invitation.

  1. Click Log In.

  2. Click Sign Up.

  3. Register with your email address, Google account, or Facebook account. Learn more about signing up



Viewing your roles and permissions


There are many different roles and permissions for collaborators, and site owners can create custom roles to give collaborators tailored access. If you need additional permissions, contact the site owner and ask them to change your role.


To view your role and permissions:


  1. Go to Roles and Permissions in the site’s dashboard.

  2. Locate your name in the list.

  3. Hover over your role, then click the Information icon ⓘ to view your permissions.


A screenshot of hovering over a collaborator's role to view its permissions.


Actions that can’t be performed by collaborators


Collaborators cannot perform any of the following actions, regardless of their role.


Category

Action

Site actions

  • Delete sites

  • Duplicate sites

  • Transfer ownership of sites

Premium features

  • Purchase or manage business emails

  • Connect a domain owned by the collaborator

  • Assign/reassign Premium plans

Roles & Permissions

  • Create new custom roles

  • Change permissions of existing custom roles

  • Manage roles

  • Change their own or other collaborators roles

  • Invite or remove other collaborators with additional permissions

Other

  • Access Get Feedback

  • Access any account-wide information

  • Access the Wix Payments Dashboard

  • Refund transactions via Wix Payments

  • Purchase shipping labels

  • Purchase Shutterstock images

  • Access specific pages in the Editor

  • Access the Online Store app by Ecwid



Removing yourself as a collaborator


You can remove yourself as a collaborator whenever you need to, revoking your site access.


Note:


You cannot remove yourself if your role is Blog Writer or Blog Editor.


To remove your collaborator access:


  1. Go to Roles and Permissions in the site’s dashboard.

  2. Locate your name in the list, and click Leave site.


A screenshot of selecting

  1. Click Leave site.



This article is credited to the Wix team - https://support.wix.com/ and we thank them for that!

Comments


lord_of_the_wix

© 2027 BY LORD OF THE WIX

©
bottom of page