top of page

Accepting Transferred Site Ownership

7 days ago
3 min read

Updated: 6 days ago

When someone transfers a site to you, you'll receive an email with a link to accept the transfer. If the transferred site has Premium services (e.g. a Premium plan, domain etc.), you'll be asked to enter your billing information for future renewals of those services.



Accepting site ownership


Site ownership must be accepted in the Wix account associated with the email address that the site was transferred to. If you do not have a Wix account with this email address, you can create one.


To accept site ownership:


  1. Check your email account for an email with the subject line Wix Website is Being Transferred to You.

  2. Click Accept Transfer in the email and sign in to your Wix account (if you are not already signed in).

    Note: If you don't have an account, click Sign Up to create one.

  3. Review the transfer details and click Next.

  4. Enter your billing information and click Next.

  5. Enter the domain contact information and click Complete Transfer.


Note:


If you receive a site without any Premium services, simply click Accept Transfer and sign in to your account (or click Sign Up to create one). You do not need to enter any billing or domain transfer information.



FAQs


Site transfers must be initiated from the site owner's account. Once they initiate the transfer, you'll receive an email and you can follow the steps above. If someone created your site for you in another account, contact them and ask them to follow the relevant steps below to transfer the site to you:

If the site owner is no longer available, or you wish to verify ownership, you can fill out the Wix Account Recovery form. Make sure to fill out the entire form (even if you're not completely sure of the answers), and add a detailed explanation of your case, so we can properly verify your ownership. Don't forget to provide us with a valid contact email so we can respond to you.

After you submit the form, our team will analyze and review your request.


The billing information that you add during the transfer process is used to renew your paid services at the end of the subscription period. You are not charged while accepting the transfer. These services are set to renew automatically. If you do not want them to, you can switch the auto renewal option off.


No, currently it is not possible to transfer a Wix Payments account.


The transfer invite is valid for 3 days only. If you don't accept the transfer within 3 days, the invite expires. Once it expires you can ask the original owner to send the invite again either via email or direct link.


Yes, site media is associated with a specific Wix site. If you receive a transferred site, you'll have access to all the media files that were uploaded to it. You can find these files in the transferred site's Media Manager. Learn how to access the Media Manager.



This article is credited to the Wix team - https://support.wix.com/ and we thank them for that!

Comments


lord_of_the_wix

© 2027 BY LORD OF THE WIX

©
bottom of page